1. Welcome. We have only just upgraded so there may be a few little niggles and issues! Please let us know when you find them! And enjoy the super shiny new forums

Stage 1 power upgrades 4-9

Discussion in 'Tech Questions & How To Guides' started by RsvRob, May 5, 2011.

Advert:
  1. SouthwestEvo

    SouthwestEvo New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    7
    Lee u are a Legend!!
    Will pm And now..
     
    #21
  2. And@fcm

    And@fcm Trader
    Trader

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    60
    PM'd back, if the car has a second lambda in it it's used to measure the cat efficiency so will put up a light if its not getting the right air to fuel mixture, as it'll think the cat is knackered, sometime you can just hang it up out of the way and it won't set it off but most of the time it will.

    we'll see what the fault is when I read it
     
    #22
  3. RsvRob

    RsvRob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    2,882
    Likes Received:
    232
    This is some good info well done and thx
     
    #23
  4. mass

    mass New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    quality thread m8
     
    #24
  5. RsvRob

    RsvRob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    2,882
    Likes Received:
    232
    sticky- and about time too lol :)
     
    #25
  6. evoaps

    evoaps Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    145
    Good stuff mate :)
     
    #26
  7. Ozy

    Ozy New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    1
    Time for a stage2 thread or a thread that explains how to get more power after stage one mods for example if sumone got bottom end strengthened and change of injectors may be a different intercooler, what an saying is how to get more power before you need a rebuild of the internals
    Good thread thow
     
    #27
  8. B6lee

    B6lee Community Leader

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    13,370
    Likes Received:
    678
    Stage one will get most between 360-400 which is down to the model of car and to what the mapper is prepaired to take it to safely.

    The next stage would be forged rods and once you done that its all down to how much you wanna spend :)
     
    #28
  9. RsvRob

    RsvRob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    2,882
    Likes Received:
    232
    Stage 2 is as Lee says. Meen's changing internal's and any other part you can afford. So no real need to do q full right up as the choice of parts is down to preference and price.

    But for basics without internal changes :-

    Bigger injectors
    Bigger turbo
    2nd fuel pump (preferably inline Bosch)
    Bigger intercooler with matching hard pipes
    Bigger cams (higher lift, 264 or 272 normally)
    Remap to suit new mods

    Anything more would require internals changed to suit the spec you want...
     
    #29
  10. Ozy

    Ozy New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks rob, Lee that's shed some light on the situation so if I wanted 430 bhp good low end torque and high what kind of costs am I looking at
     
    #30
  11. Mick

    Mick Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    11
    Bit of a bump for an old thread but don't see the point in starting a new one.


    What difference does hard wiring a fuel pump make to just fitting a Walbro normally?
     
    #31
  12. Simon@NTS

    Simon@NTS Trader
    Trader

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    3,879
    Likes Received:
    463
    It gives the pump full battery voltage rather than the crap 9v or 12v and eradicates the masses of daft relays that are prone to fail.
     
    #32
    Mick and supamario666 like this.
  13. supamario666

    supamario666 Trader
    Trader

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2012
    Messages:
    6,610
    Likes Received:
    871
    I think it's something to do with the power lost or be put through the relays!:confused:

    Q the Geeks!! Lol!
     
    #33
    Mick likes this.
  14. supamario666

    supamario666 Trader
    Trader

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2012
    Messages:
    6,610
    Likes Received:
    871
    Beat me to it and put it some much better!! Aka the geeks in da house!!
     
    #34
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2013
  15. Mick

    Mick Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    11
    Would you recommend having it hard wired for a car that is only going be stage 1?
     
    #35
  16. Simon@NTS

    Simon@NTS Trader
    Trader

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    3,879
    Likes Received:
    463
    No mate
     
    #36
  17. StuartW

    StuartW New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Stage 1 mods complete still getting fuel cut @ 1.2 Bar!

    Hi Anyone reading this Thanks in advance as its becomming rather frustrating now,

    Started off with a bone stock Evo 4 import.

    Mods i have done
    2.75" downpipe
    3" de cat
    3" cat back

    Orange top 560cc injectors

    Black plastic cased Evo 5 ECU

    New 0.8 bar wastegate actuator (As old one didnt hold pressure and made the car run 1.5 bar of boost and fuel cut)

    Genuine Walboro 255

    Re wire to new 255 inc relay

    Gizzmo Boost controller and 3 port Mac valve (Plumbed with port 1 & 2) Side and front)

    3" mushroom induction kit

    Fully serviced Inc new fuel filter but running denso iridium plugs, Gap seems around 0.8mm? is it worth having a better grade or different gap plug?

    After all of these mods i am still getting fuel cut when it spikes to 1.2 bar so i have to set around 1.1 bar. I am guessing that the ECU stock Fuel cut is coming in? I have the gain on the Gizzmo MS-2 set at 50, have tried all else and cannot seem to stop the boost spike, Air temps pretty low this time of year circa 5c during testing.

    The Gizzmo is also set to Open loop, I tried closed but it will not run more than 0.5Bar Maybe i have my ports plumbed in wrong?, But it was as per Gizzmo instructions although they are questionable as it tells you 2 secs to hold buttons when in fact its 5 secs...:(

    Is it advisable to wire in the FCD from my Gizzmo, Or to be safer and buy an AFR gauge, Or as i already have it to fit an adjustable FPR? If so what sort of PSI at idle Say 38PSI??

    What exactly is envolved in re mapping the car, A new wire into the ECU loom? If so anyone got any links or clues on this? Is the re flash something i can DIY?

    Sorry for all the Q's and await any help given :blush:

    Stu
     
    #37
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2013
  18. RsvRob

    RsvRob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    2,882
    Likes Received:
    232
    Fuel cut get it mapped out
     
    #38
  19. trampystu

    trampystu New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    great thread,

    just a question, is it beneficial to get hard piping (silicone hosing and such like) for the inlet and intercooler for a stage one?
    also should i get it rolling roaded before since i dont know if its stock power or not?

    have a 3'' decat system and a apexi airfilter, will get collecting the rest of stage one parts before its put back on the road in a few months, as far as i'm awear its standard at the moment

    thanks, stu
     
    #39
  20. RsvRob

    RsvRob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    2,882
    Likes Received:
    232
    Not necessary for stage 1 but always beneficial in performance and looks.
     
    #40

Share This Page

Advert: